Home » Writing » Sorry for my Absence and Editing your finished product

Sorry for my Absence and Editing your finished product

First of all I need to say a quick apology for my abandonment of this blog for a while.  Family pulled me away, a loss of a sibling, the real work I have to do then of course my attempts at completed my manuscript. 

I can say while not in the best shape, the last one is done. 

The daunting task of revisions, edits etc begins. 

I read tons of articles and advice on how to get through this part as it is right now I feel overwhelmed. 
Advice includes, starting over again, rewrite the whole thing (for a 3rd time) so it will be right then do it again and again.  Uh No.  Not going to rewrite what doesn’t need to be rewritten. That is not being condescending or arrogant, but I have rewritten the story. I have a few minor plot points I know need to be fixed but I am not redoing everything.  Maybe that is wrong, who knows. 

What I have figured out, which isn’t much is that there, like writing in general, are not rules to editing. It is a process and one that you must discover on your own. 

So, hopefully this blog will allow me to share with you a process that works. Does that mean it will work for you?  Nope.  Like everything you have to find your own way.  What I discover, I will pass on. No matter what, it still has to be your process.

Today, I am in search of the basic building blocks for my dive into editing.  I’ll let you know what those are as I find them. 

Its good to be back. 

One thought on “Sorry for my Absence and Editing your finished product

Leave a Reply

