Home » Writing » A Whole New World

A Whole New World

Good Morning

It is a cold wet Monday morning here in Georgia. But I have to say that I have always loved the rain. (As long as I’m inside)

I wanted to share a few things I have learned over the past few weeks as I venture into this contest called #PitchWars. 

1) Writers are truly amazing, kind, and giving people. (I have met some amazing new friends during this entire process that I wouldn’t trade  for the world) 

2) I still have so many things to learn about the craft of writing. I am loving the helpful blogs that my new friends post. I hope soon that I can share some wonderful, insightful and inspiring words as well. 

3) There are so many stories to be told. Some that I have read and helped other polish (Although I’m not great at that, I do my best) My brain is in overdrive. I have added more things to my idea book in the last several weeks than I have in a long time. (Not stealing anyone’s idea’s but when you open yourself up to a creative world, those juices start to flow, I have ideas that were once just fleeting thoughts now re-emerging as actual coherent plots.  I am a little excited) 

4) I need to pump up my vocabulary and grammar skills. (I have learned new words that I never took the time to learn before, and I almost wish I was young and in high school again so I could go back and start my English classes over again.)

Yes, I still have a ton to learn but I am going to do it. There is nothing in this world that I want more than to be able to give these stories that float in my head a home, either on a bookshelf in a store, on a kindle or nook. 

One day I will be able to write freely without the constraints of stress (other than hopefully deadlines or writer’s block) 

Most of you that know me, know how rough of a year 2013 has been.(Loss of family members and friends)  This is the first time in my life I have ever looked forward to starting a new year with new thoughts, new goals and a new outlook on life. 

Leave a Reply

