Home » Writing » What I’ve learned.

What I’ve learned.

As sad as I am to make this announcement, I must.

Many of you are aware that I entered a contest to have my book reviewed by a published author and then presented to agents.

Unfortunately my story was not chosen. What does that mean?

First of all, there were over 2000 entries so the odds were not in my favor.

Second, there are some extremely talented writers and stories that will be coming your way very very soon.

Some may think that not being chosen would make me sad, frustrated and defeated. But it actually did quite the opposite.

I received a note from one of the published authors about my story. It was the most encouraging thing I have ever received about my writing.

She said, that she could not pinpoint the reason that she didn’t chose me. The writing was polished, the story and characters compelling and the premise intriguing. She also went on to say that if she saw this story in a bookstore it would be one that she would buy.

WHAT I LEARNED.

I learned from this experience, that I still have a lot to learn.

I also had to remind myself that NO is not a negative thing. NO is a positive thing.

Yes you heard me right. NO is POSITIVE.  Why? Because what if I never sent my story in? What if I never put myself out there for others to see. Because I did send a submission, because I took the chance. It is positive.

Even though the answer was no, it would have most certainly been a no had I not tried. So the effort of trying is a positive thing.

Think about the times in your life when you didn’t take that chance, you were too afraid to put yourself out there. When you stood in the corner and waited for something to happen, without taking the steps to make it happen.

Besides the new friends I have made through this experience the one thing I learned from this is that if I want something to happen, it is up to me. Sitting around waiting for it, doesn’t bring you that thing you want. You have to at least try to get it, no matter the answer.

So hater’s gonna hate, but you know what. I will not give up. I will not give in. I will make my dreams come true no matter what!

 

So, what brave thing will you do today?

 

One thought on “What I’ve learned.

  1. Congratulations on being selected to be reviewed by a published author. The encouragement she gave was invaluable. Things don’t always happen the first time, but, you have been noticed. If you submit your book again the chances are very good that it will be accepted.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

Leave a Reply

